Five Woodland Public School employees recognized for excellence


Woodland Public Schools recognized five employees for their continual efforts to create a positive and productive school environment despite challenges during the COVID-19 pandemic.

This year’s winners are Devon Keas, Candice Littleman, Terry Pederson, Missy Sorensen and Camile Wilson, states a news release.

“This year, Devon started a project for a college course she was taking at the time, but, seeing how successful the project was, she continued working on the project with our students even after her class requirements ended because it’s for the kids,” stated one person who nominated Keas.

During an end-of-year ceremony, each award recipient was presented with a plaque from Superintendent Michael Green, Assistant Superintendent Asha Riley and Human Resources Director Vicky Barnes, states the release.

“Although Candice has only been in her current job for less than a year, she is truly a person who makes Columbia Elementary all that it can be,” another person stated in the release.

“Terry (is) a dedicated, caring and trustworthy guardian of the precious children who ride her bus. Particularly, in these challenging and uncertain times, children need a reliable, familiar and trustworthy adult to calm their fears and provide normalcy in their lives,” stated the release referencing Pederson.

“Camille embodies hard work, ethics, cooperation, adaptability and an attitude of getting the job done, no matter what it takes. She goes above and beyond to ensure that Woodland High School’s constantly changing metrics for safety protocols are met by supporting the safety of our students and staff,” a community member wrote about Wilson.

“Missy has accommodated families while also including time for music and art,” stated the release about Sorensen. “She truly is the model example of an excellent employee.”

Each year, staff and community members can nominate deserving individuals for the Employee of Excellence awards.

Woodland Public Schools accepts nominations for the award all year at


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here