After three full days of outstanding big band jazz, the outstanding musician awards and the evening finals results for the 54th Annual Clark College Jazz Festival were announced.

For 2016, the Dale Beacock Memorial Sweepstakes trophy was awarded to the Battle Ground High School Advanced Jazz Band.

Chief Umtuch Middle School took home third place in the middle school jazz ensemble finals Thu., Jan. 28; Outstanding Middle School Jazz Musician certificates were presented to Lukas Miller, VSAA; Evan Siegel, VSAA; Tanner Linton, Hockinson; Ashton Hemming, Chief Umtuch; Dominic Mendoza, Chief Umtuch.

In the A and AA division high school jazz ensemble final results, La Center High School took third place in the A division and Hockinson High School took second place in the AA division. on Fri., Jan. 29. Outstanding high school musician awards for the A Division were presented to Gabe Pol, VSAA; Tyrelle Massey, Woodland. Outstanding high school musician awards for the AA Division were presented to Lorenzo Ponce, Ridgefield; Nick Baciuc, Hockinson.

The Battle Ground High School Advanced Jazz Band took home first place in the AAAA division. An outstanding high school musician award for the AAAA Division was presented to Steve Montecucco, Battle Ground.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.